64-bit apps support

64-bit apps support

Postby goha » Wed Feb 08, 2017 4:34 pm

Here is some clarification on the topic.

Current ExaGear Desktop v 1.5 does not support 64-bit x86 apps.

This functionality is in development and when released will allow to run 64-bit x86 apps on 64-bit ARM devices with 64-bit ARM OS. For instance, current official version of Raspbian is 32-bit even for RPi 3 that is based on ARMv8, i.e. 64-bit ARM device. ExaGear won't be able to run 64-bit x86 apps on 32-bit ARM OS and/or 32-bit ARM devices.

RPi 3 is based on ARMv8 CPU architecture -> it is 64-bit ARM device. But current Raspbian for RPi 3 is 32-bit ARM OS.
RPi 2 is based on ARMv7 CPU architecture -> it is 32-bit ARM device.
RPi 1 is based on ARMv6 CPU architecture -> it is 32-bit ARM device.
RPi Zero is based on ARMv6 CPU architecture -> it is 32-bit ARM device.
goha
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2014 9:22 am

Re: 64-bit apps support

Postby wondergirl » Mon Feb 20, 2017 3:29 am

Nope, that is the reason they HAVE 64 bit OS's. In the event that what you said is valid, then they wouldn't have even made 64 bit OS's, they would've quite recently just kept 32 bit and left as seems to be.
wondergirl
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2017 3:25 am

Re: 64-bit apps support

Postby sollapse » Sat Mar 18, 2017 4:56 pm

Is there an update on when a beta will be ready at least? I've purchased the armhf version in September 2015, awaiting for the complete x64-arm64 version to become available since it was first announced during that time. Even though I currently use an arm64 platform, I'm holding off on upgrading until the availability of the 64bit translation features.
sollapse
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2017 4:51 pm

Re: 64-bit apps support

Postby user » Wed Aug 09, 2017 5:07 pm

sollapse wrote:Is there an update on when a beta will be ready at least? I've purchased the armhf version in September 2015, awaiting for the complete x64-arm64 version to become available since it was first announced during that time. Even though I currently use an arm64 platform, I'm holding off on upgrading until the availability of the 64bit translation features.

Hello!
Finally we started closed beta testing of ExaGear Desktop with x86 64-bit applications support. If you would like to get this beta please send request to support_at_eltechs.com.
Note that you should have ARM 64-bit OS on your device, i.e. 'arch' command should return 'armv8' or 'aarch64' in the output.
user
Site Admin
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2014 8:54 pm


Return to ExaGear Desktop

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests